Devil Egg Cake (Jelly Roll)

Jelly rolls are very easy to make, use few ingredients, can be simple or showy and are delicious. This recipe is from my Dads recipe collection. My Dad and a few of my Uncles were some of the Founding  Members of  The Chefs Confederation.

You can visit the link at   http://www.edmontonchefs.ca/who_we_are/edmonton_history and here for the original picture and stats of the Founding Fathers http://www.ccfcc.ca/founding_en.html to get full details and individual member names. If you have trouble with that link type Canadian federation of chefs 1963 in the search bar. If you see this photo in either search it’s the right place.

dad founding member pic

He was also featured years ago in the Edmonton Journal with a 4-6 foot tall wedding cake he made. I am still trying to find the article for complete accurate details. 

My Dad was an unordinary extraordinary Chef. He was not only an expert in his field but also hilarious and a notorious ” joke teller”. Now on to the recipe…

Chocolate Jelly Roll

INGREDIENTS

4 egg whites

2/3 cup granulated sugar

4 egg yolks

1 teaspoon vanilla

With electric mixer beat egg whites.When they begin to stiffen gradually add sugar. Continue beating until stiff  but not dry. Set this aside. In another bowl lightly beat yolks. Add vanilla then mix this into the sugar mixture.

 SIFT TOGETHER

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup cocoa

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Fold these dry ingredients into the sugar & egg  mixture above.

Pour/spread into a shallow pan (cookie sheet) 10 by 13 that has been greased & lined with wax paper. Grease the wax paper also. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes.

 Remove from oven and invert onto a prepared dishtowel that is at least the same size as the cake. To prepare the towel, rub/sprinkle with granulated sugar.

 Lift off pan and peel off wax paper right away.

 Now your cake should be sitting on the cloth with the shorter edge facing you. It should also be laying even with the edge of the cloth. Sprinkle sugar over the cake (to help prevent the towel from sticking while it cools)

 Roll up the cake and cloth together. Cool completely on a cooling rack.  Unroll and spread with Jam, icing, sweetened whipped cream or what ever you choose. 

Refrigerate if filled with cream. This is quite delicious and even more so if you serve with chocolate sauce. 

The cake in the photo above is filled with sweetened whipping cream and sprinkled with granulated sugar. I often just spread my favorite jam on and  keep it on the counter to sample throughout the day with a coffee… umm.  

 

7 thoughts on “Devil Egg Cake (Jelly Roll)”

  1. Have I told you lately how proud I am you are my sister?? That you make me smile and joyful and I love you to the bones?? If not, then know that how much I adore you and am grateful to have you as a sister.

  2. OK, OK, sis. Now you’ve made me hungry (and I just finished dinner a little while ago). I think I need to go raid my freezer for some dessert. I think there are still a few chocolate eclairs in there (best I could do since you’re not here to fill up my freezer for me).

    Very creative (and cruel) to tease us with what’s to come. Looking forward to it. I LOVE peanut butter.

    So good to see a picture of Dad again. His chef hat looks like a halo to me. 🙂

    1. I will send you some peanut butter fudge through my Road Runner Express delivery service. It will be there shortly. I will post a picture of him so you know what to look for.

  3. Hi Denise!

    Now you’re trying to make me fatter too?! 🙂

    It all looks tooooooo good. And with pictures no less!

    How long have you been blogging? You don’t look like a newbie here.

    I saw your comment on my website. Thanks so much! (As you can see, not too many people have signed the guestbook so far. I count four entries and you and your sister are two of them. 🙂

    Happy to talk to you wherever. And here on your blog I get some wonderful posts to read while I stop by. Can’t beat that!

    Happy Blogging Denise. 😀

    – Bob

    1. Thanks Bob, thanks for your comment and interest. I’ve been gone for a bit; lotsa stuff here at home to deal with. It’s good to be back. Stop by again when you get the grumblies 😀 and I’ll see what I can cook for you.

Leave a Reply

